NIC Names Stevens 2011 Coach of the Year

Apr 11, 2011

The North-American Interfraternity Conference is pleased to announce its annual All-Fraternity All-American Team made up of players from all NCAA Divisions and the NAIA. Our Coach of the Year is Brad Stevens of Alpha Tau Omega, who took his 28-10 Butler squad to the NCAA Division I championship game for the second straight year. Nominees were submitted to the NIC by fraternity headquarters, Greek advisors, Greek alumni and sports information directors at colleges and universities. Additional research was done by Jay Langhammer at

First Team
MIKE CASE, Phi Gamma Delta-Hanover—DIII All-Region first team, All-HCAC first team; team leader in scoring (399 points, 14.8) and rebounds (229, 8.5)

AUSTIN CLAUNCH, Sigma Nu-Emory— All-South Region first team, All-UAA first team, GABCA All-State first team; team leader in scoring (412 points, 16.5) and assists (186, 7.4—third in DIII)

DEVON GIBSON, Sigma Phi Epsilon-Texas at San Antonio—NABC All-District first team, All-Southland Conference first team; led team in minutes (1,190), scoring (577 points, 17.0), assists (183) and steals (91); second in rebounds (178, 5.2)

GREG MANGANO, Zeta Psi-Yale—NABC All-District second team, All-Ivy League first team; led Ivy League in rebounds (281, 10.0) and team in scoring (457 points, 16.3)

PAT SULLIVAN, Theta Delta Chi-Hamilton—NABC All-District first team, Liberty League Player of the Year; led team in scoring (453 points, 17.4) and rebounds (164, 6.3)

Coach of the Year
BRAD STEVENS, Alpha Tau Omega—Led Butler to a 28-10 record and the NCAA championship game

Honorable Mention Players
Lewis Affronti, Kappa Alpha Order—University of the South; Josh Arant, Sigma Alpha Epsilon—Rhodes; Shasha Brown, Beta Theta Pi-Wesleyan; Ben Burkett, Beta Theta Pi—Wabash; Jason Cimino, Beta Theta Pi-Washington & Lee; Coy Custer, Pi Kappa Alpha—Lamar; John Dunavant , Sigma Alpha Epsilon—Rhodes; J.D. Ely, Kappa Alpha Order-Washington & Lee; Alex Greven, Sigma Nu—Emory;Alex Gulotta, Sigma Nu-Emory; Sean Haseley, Phi Kappa Psi-DePauw; Adam Johnson, Kappa Alpha Order-William Jewell; Josh Johnson, Pi Kappa Alpha—Presbyterian; Taylor Meades, Kappa Alpha Order—Millsaps; Mark Messenger, Sigma Nu—Birmingham-Southern; Mitchell Meyer, Phi Gamma Delta—Hanover; Ryan Nowicki, Phi Gamma Delta-Hanover; Alex Richey, Sigma Alpha Epsilon—Oglethorpe; Skylar Tolson, Kappa Alpha Order—Westminster MO; Jake Vilsay, Delta Tau Delta—Westminster MO; Clive Weeden, Theta Delta Chi-Dartmouth; Kelsey Weymuth, Kappa Alpha Order—Westminster MO; Nic Whitfield, Delta Tau Delta—LaGrange

Honorable Mention Coaches
Jim Boeheim, Delta Upsilon—Syracuse; Brad Brownell, Sigma Chi—Clemson; Matt Doherty, Pi Kappa Alpha—SMU; Scott Drew, Delta Tau Delta—Baylor; Mark Edwards, Beta Theta Pi—Washington MO; Bill Fenlon, Delta Tau Delta—DePauw; Leonard Hamilton, Kappa Alpha Psi—Florida State; Fred Hoiberg, Pi Kappa Alpha—Iowa State; Rick Pitino, Lambda Chi Alpha—Louisville; Kevin Stallings, Pi Kappa Alpha—Vanderbilt; Brooks Thompson, Sigma Chi—Texas at San Antonio; Jay Wright, Sigma Chi—Villanova


Contact Us